Understanding the Principles of Backups

Hello,

First I want to say, that I am new to the whole server space, backups, everything that comes with it. Sorry, and thank you for your time and patience.
I want to get a better understanding of UrBackup and how a backup strategy plan should be made.
I have read the manual, all documentation, and multiple forum posts and cant seem to answer my questions or expand my understanding.
I have lost many files over the years and am trying not to repeat.

Use Case:
I have 3 window’s laptops (win 10/11) with roughly 500GB each for myself and two other clients.
I would like to backup the data to my server, which is running Unraid, with Urbackup in a docker container. I want to keep all my files, even if the user deletes it from the laptop/client side, unless I go to the server and remove the file myself. (note file, and not image, as in it could be a document, picture, folder, etc.)

To my understanding:
Urbackup can create Image backups, which are complete volume backups of windows, and file backups, which are backups of the files a client can specify.
Urbackup does a full backup, which basically copies everything, and then incremental backups, which watches for changes and only backs up the changes or new files if it finds any.

Incremental backups use symlinks, which is a link to a folder on the full backup, but sometimes it’ll use hardlinks if its a new file? Symlinks break if the original starting file is deleted. In my mind I picture a single rope connecting to one file which connects to another in a line, if the anchor breaks you lose all the links, while hardlinks are multiple ropes connecting to a single file, where if one anchor is lost, you still have the others. Which is also why Hardlinks show each hardlink is 10GB for example, even though its only a single 10GB file, because they get the file size from the source. Where as symlinks can show small incremental sizes as they are all tied.