"Watch" folder?

Hi all -

I am new to UrBackup. My config is Win10 and Raspberry Pi 3.

So far it is working amazingly well and I have full backup speed on my local network.

I am trying to figure out if it is possible to set up a “watch” folder which, if the content in it changes, it pushes a backup to the server pretty much immediately, or after a certain much shorter amount of time than 1 hour per incremental update. I am interested in programming and video editing, both of which require frequent saves and fallback level backups.

Is it possible with UrBackup? Or on the plate for future updates?

Currently I only see the option for incremental backup every hour, unless I’m not clicking in the right place. Especially with programming and video editing, a lot can happen in an hour …

Thanks very much.

Hi

Really that sounds like a bad idea, i don’t think there s a way to provide more than hourly granularity backup of video file editions, specially on a raspberry pi. I am already surprised you have a working setup (btw did you tested restores?)

Usually why peoples want to watch for file changes, is to not have to scan for differences.
Bu then the backup will always have some granularity and usually it s daily. Providing more than daily is already very good.

You can put in something like 0.3 as backup interval.

Continuous backup is currently partially implemented but on ice.

Hi orogor … Have you ever written an email via an online source like GMail and found your draft to be autosaved after every couple of seconds? Even when you write a reply here on the forums system, it autosaves your document (to somewhere) maybe 15 seconds after being idle. That is a bit of excessive traffic if even for a split second when saving something over a home [or corporate] network; I am not looking for something as frequent as that but, every few minutes?