Unintended backup on foreign server

What is the best way to avoid a Laptop from trying to use the wrong server?
Today I connected to a customer’s Wi-Fi with my laptop, and somehow my laptop started showing up on her UrBackup server. It didnt complete a backup, but it actually showed my machine name on the UrBackup interface and a folder with my PC name was created on her server.
That was a little scary, she was going to have a full copy of my PC, not sure why it didnt actually happened, but puzzled on why my laptop even tried to back up on the wrong server

Unless one of the conditions listed in the first entry at https://www.urbackup.org/faq.html were satisfied this should not have happened. Does “C:\Program Files\UrBackup\server_idents.txt” list that server’s identity now?

It is a Mac laptop, and the funny thing is, the software was removed, it is not even supposed to be on that Mac.
But I still see in the server logs how my Mac was supposedly connecting to the server periodically, trying to upload backups.
Computer name Backup time Errors Warnings Action
MyMacBook 03/29/17 08:42 3 0 Full file backup
MyMacBook 03/29/17 08:31 3 0 Full file backup
MyMacBook 03/29/17 06:11 3 0 Full file backup
MyMacBook 03/29/17 06:01 3 0 Full file backup
MyMacBook 03/29/17 05:44 3 0 Full file backup
I swear I removed urbackup from this Mac days ago, I dont have the icon anymore and I dont have the program in Launchpad. How can I check for traces of urbackup service on my Mac?

Obviously it is still running :wink: It runs as system daemon. How did you remove it? Via Tray Icon -> Uninstall ?

Exactly like that, Tray icon -> uninstall

I didnt think on that, I just saw the process running in the background.
:slight_smile: Rebooted the Mac, process is gone.
Is there anything I can do to make the Tray Icon kill that process once finishing the uninstall?

Also, I just though, it is kind of negative that if I sit in someone else’s network, my PC has the ability to create something on their server. Is this normal?