Saving to Truenas share

I’ll start off with saying I am extremely new to linux, docker and VM’s in general. I ran UrBackup with UnRaid pretty easily but recently moved to Proxmox. I’m finally getting around to installing UrBackup again but I’m confusing myself/overthinking the setup I’m sure.

I’m running Proxmox with an Ubuntu Server VM and a TrueNas Scale VM. I’ve installed UrBackup via docker on the Ubuntu vm… All fine there. My issue is I want to use a file/share off my Truenas to save all my files to as that is my NAS solution. I’m not quite sure how to achieve that.

To me it appears that if I start running backups, It will save to the volume in the docker file on the Ubuntu VM, Is that correct? Do I need to somehow change the volume it points to in the docker file and make it point to the share from truenas?

This is a more fitting question for a proxmox forum.
As for volumes in docker, that is a question for a docker forum.

There are probably ppl here who can answer, maybe you get lucky but don’t hold your breath.

Maybe you have to create a separate volume in docker, I simply don’t know, I don’t run urbackup in docker.

1 Like

Thank you! I appreciate the reply

Hi

Got a similar setup - but using vmware as my host - in docker you need to use the ‘-v’ parameter to make a mount point in the docker image to be overlaid with a mountpoint from your VM that’s hosting the docker image - e.g.:

docker run -d \
–name urbackup \
–restart unless-stopped \
–cap-add SYS_ADMIN \
-e PUID=1000 \
-e PGID=1000 \
-e TZ=Pacific/Auckland \
-v /<yourmountpoint_for_backups>:/backups \
-v /<yourmountpoint_for_database>:/var/urbackup \
–network host \
uroni/urbackup-server:latest

where yourmountpoint_for_backups is the mount point where your backup images will be stored
and yourmountpoint_for_database is the mount point where the URBACKUP database is stored