Noob - protecting my installation from the internet?

Hi

Apologies for the newbie question - I’m just starting out with urbackup…

In the documentation, I see many references to the possibility of backing up / restoring via the internet - however, I’ve not spotted any details of how to ensure that this functionality is turned ‘off’. (As I tend to be a little paranoid about things such as this)

My concern is that I don’t want a client to accidentally back up to a urbackup server over the internet, and likewise, I don’t want anyone over the internet being able to access my backup server.

The server is a docker image (latest) running on linux - and while this is on our own private home network, I’m aware that I’ve had applications that have been able to advertise themselves and respond from the internet.

I’m currently trying out a windows 10 PC client, and about to try a linux client… all items (server and clients) are currently running the default settings.

If you could let me know

• If internet functionality comes initially disabled.
  • if its not disabled, then how this should be done without breaking functionality.

Hope that all makes sense… many thanks in advance.
Carl.

Hi Carl, your question makes a lot of sense :+1:

I think you are referring to the “internet mode”. This term is a little bit misleading, i.e. has nothing to do with the internet.

By default, your server will try to discover and reach out to clients in your LAN. When you configure “internet mode” then it sits waiting and clients are connecting to the server (still in your LAN). It opens up some ports, but it doesn’t make your server visible or accessible from outside your LAN, that is something you have to configure for example by redirecting traffic on you router.

So just like with any other server you can make use of your host firewall to further restrict who from your LAN can connect to UrBackup.

Hiya

Many thanks for your swift reply - and for the assurance :slight_smile: