Need help with retention settings

Hi there,

I’m new to urBackup, and what a great product! It’s a lifesaver, and I’m thrilled with it.

I need some help with retention settings. I would like make a full backup once per week, and incremental backups daily. I would like to retain the two most recent full backups, and incremental backups only since the most recent full.

And a related question: will urBackup remove a full backup that meets the cleanup criteria if there are still incremental backups that rely on it?

Thank you!

Hi

Frequency :
For image backup : it work as you usually think a full and an incremental would work (an incremental need a full).
Also image backup only work on windows. And unless you buy the cbt plugin, they are quite long to run.
So you take them not too often, like : a full image like once every 1-2 month, then an incremental per week.

But for file backup : full and incremental are mostly the same. Just that a full rescan everything and basically it allows to catch bugs/corruptions.
A full is longer to run but use the same amount of storage that an incremental.
Also file backup dont depends on anything (you can delete any backup, there’s no chain).

So for file backup the usual thing is to run a full once every 1-3 months (not week).
Then the incremental you usually don’t care too much, unless special case it takes minutes to run.

Retention:
You have two paths that you can mix, even if it can be hard to imagine the result.

One path via the main tab, is for example :
Keep min 5 backup, max 30 backups.
Then only delete backup if there s no enough space or the max backups has been reached (30), but always keep at least min backup (5).

The other path is via archiving, for example :
Main tab : keep min 1 backup, max 1 backups (or some other low number).
Then in archive tab, tell it to mark a backup for archive every day and keep it during one week. and every 7 days, mark a backup for archive during 15 days.