Have backups from old machine I would like to restore from

I have a server that the os went bad yet I still have backups from the previous install on a 132 terabyte drive. all of the new images are stored on this drive and I would like to use some of the old ones that are still on their is there a way to do that?

@walkman i’m not a developer for UrBackup but i assume you should be able to retrieve backups done by a previous installation.

Have you tried installing UrBackup server on the new hardware and pointing the “Backups folder” to the drive that has the old backup files?

My understanding is that the backup files are unencrypted. So the new installation of UrBackup should be able to access them.

Give it a try and let us know. I’m curious to hear your findings as I’m trying to redeploy UrBackup myself on a different hardware.

The new OS is on the same server that the backups are on yet it didn’t pick them up. Not sure if I need URbackup to do a scan of some sort for that to happen or what.the drive that the old backups are on is the new servers default drive for the new UrBackup

hmmmmm. Sounds like a permission problem to me.
Try this:

1. Verify that you can browse the content of those drives and you can see the old backup files yourself.
  2. find out the user:group that owns those files. a simple ls -la inside that folder can tell you this.
  3. find out which user is currently running the UrBackup software. You may use the command top to find this out.

My gut feeling tells me that your old backup files are owned by the user “root” but your new UrBackup instance is running as the user “urbackup”.

If that is the case, either run Urbackup as root (to match the permissions of your backup files) or, change the permissions of the bakcup files so they are owned by the user currently running the UrBackup server.

Again, not a developer of UrBackup, I’m just trying to help since it seems nobody else is in this forum.