Does removing client remove backup archives?


#1

Does removing client remove backup archives ?

Found the answer here (=yes) : Archived backups / removing client

Would be nice to include that in documentation.


#2

I see you’ve already found the answer, but just in case you want to remove a client and have the backups deleted immediately, I would recommend doing this:

  1. Shut down UrBackup

  2. Run urbackupsrv remove-unknown

This seems to clean up both the database and the backup storage when it detects that the removed client no longer exists. There may be other ways, but this works for me. (The urbackupsrv command has other options, but I haven’t found these fully documented).