Disk Size Used (du Linux command) vs Backup Size Reported in Statistics

I’ve been using (and learning) urbackup for several months now as a docker container with the storage being a 4TB disk in the NAS. It works great, albeit I’ve had my fair share of “how does this work” moments.

Although not an issue at the moment, I do need better understanding of the phenomenon I am observing. This has to do with File Backups - Full and Incremental. I finally got my head wrapped around incremental backups basically contain links to every file that has been backed up since the last full File Backup. In my case I am specifically including a specific folder containing my photos. The du size of those photos is nearly 85GB. The initial full backup of those files has been deleted. I am retaining incrementals on a schedule. No more full backups (file) are scheduled (disabled). Incremental backups (file) capture all newly added photos. All works as expected. On the Backups listing tab, I can click on the Photos folder and navigate down to any particular file all the way back to my original Full File Backup. I can even download said file.

What I am seeing reported in urbackup Statistics tab for the size of those file backups, it is reported as 5.48GB. The du linux command on the storage folder in the NAS shows 82GB which is close to what I would expect the 85GB original du size on the original folder (not the backups).

What causes this discrepancy?

edit:: Also, the sum total of all backups (File, Image, Full, Incremental, All Machines) as reported in urbackup Statistics tab is 385GB. The du size on disk of those backups is 512GB. As I stated to start, I am using a 4TB drive as storage, so this isn’t a huge issue…yet. It does concern me however. The graph on the statistics tab does show increases and decreases as archived backups fall off. But this is a rather large discrepancy.

You don’t mention what filesystem you use.