Client never stops indexing

hi all,

I recently upgraded my urbackup server from 1.4.9 on freenas to 2.0.36 as well as upgrading the client on windows 10 to 2.0.34. this is my first time running a backup on my new computer. I set up my paths I want it to backup and manually did the ‘do incremental file backup’ since it wasn’t automatically triggering the backup.

the client shows it as ‘full file backup running. indexing.’ it’s been stuck on that for around 30 minutes now and it hasn’t done anything yet. on the server, if I look at the live log, this is all it shows:

10/14/16 02:54 INFO Starting full file backup…
10/14/16 02:54 DEBUG DESKTOP-91: Connecting for filelist…
10/14/16 02:54 DEBUG DESKTOP-91: Waiting for filelist

any ideas?

What are your client logs; what are your server logs? These can be found in your installation folder.

Were any of your settings changed when you upgraded?

How large is the file system you are trying to perform the full backup on? I am attempting to backup a 2TB server for the first time, and it does take anywhere from a few hours to about two days until it gets the index right – but only for the very first full backup.

You could try running remove_unknown.* or cleanup.* on your server to see if maybe there is an issue there.

I have also know indexing to take more than 24 hours due to the file system size…

hi,

it finally stopped indexing and went to actually backing up files, but it’s running at like 52KBits/s…within the same LAN on my home network! my server is quite capable of running backups at high speeds - I run a xeon 1230 3.3ghz cpu with 16gb of ram and 6 4TB HDDs in raid-z2.

when I backed up my old gaming computer, I recall urbackup backing up around 500-600MB/s.