Can't Load Password File

Hi. I’m new to this so please be gentle with the corrections :slight_smile: I installed urbackup server on Ubuntu 14.04 machine. Also installed client on same machine to get started and because I needed a backup of the Ubuntu machine. Installations went fine as far as I could tell. When I fired up the GUI, there was no GUI display at all. Also go message about couldn’t load password file. I dont’ know what to do or why. Since I can’t get to client thru GUI I don’t know how to set password nor what to set it to (e.g. same as server?). Couldn’t find any guidance on this in docs, so I’d appreciate some advice. Thanks in advance.

The tray icon does not work in connection with Unitiy (this is a wxWidgets problem). And I guess the password thing is a bug. I’ll look into that.

I think you are better of not using the client GUI on Linux :wink: (–enable-headless)

That’s ok. I won’t miss the GUI but how to I enter the path names for the backup on the client? I can find no interface at all to the Client app to which I need to set the backup paths. I must be missing something because the client appears to be running (spitting out the message about password file every few seconds) and the server also appears to be running because it too occassionally advises of the password problem (I think), but I can find no way to provide the cleint with info it needs about what to backup like the function that the Windows client has. What am I missing?

Can you configure the directories on the server? http://www.urbackup.org/administration_manual.html#x1-580008.3.3