AV software finds trojan in temp backup file

Hi,

Just starting to experiment with Urbackup, which I’m running on a server with three clients on the same home network.

Backing up one client last night, the AV software on the server picks off one of the files in \Backup\urbackup_tmp_files and puts it into quarantine. The risk reported was Trojan.Gen.

I strongly suspect it’s a false positive, the client PC is scanned regularly and is clean. But better safe than sorry. How do I find the original file which caused the error? The filename that caused the alert is just a seven digit number. Is there someway to use this filename to trace the original file the software tried to backup?

Apologies if I’m missing something obvious, but I’m new to this. The backup was over 1TB of data so it’s hard to know where to start!

Thanks,

Dominic

Do a search for the filename on the client machine.

Thanks for your reply. My problem is the temporary backup file (that has caused the alert) seems to exist only on the server. There is no file of the same name on the client.

If I understand correctly the process seems to be: Client sends file to be backed up to server > File is saved in temporary folder with a new filename (in this case 1861240) > Temporary file is processed and placed into the backup

What I need to work out is the relationship between the name of the temporary file (1861240) and the original file name, so I can carefully check the client PC.

Thanks again.

Could always browse the logs for anything that looks suspicious; run Malware Bytes or a few other Anti-Virus/Anti-Malware programs on the problem computer and see if any of those give you a false positive.