Disabling Automatic Backup Deletion ( bad deletions being automatically done)

Have had a problem over the last few weeks with a few sites. Random sites are having retentions deleted in a manner against settings. It will leave random drives retained but will delete backups of everything else. Not a good thing and I cannot figure out what is happening.

Is it possible to set our backups to where no data is deleted automatically?